Bursary Award

This year, the 17th Conference of International Association of Colloid and Interface Scientists 2022 (IACIS 2022) is offering a limited number of bursary awards. Award recipients will have their conference fees for in-person or online registration waived or substantially reduced. These awards are intended to extend accessibility to the conference to those with limited financial means in order to promote the development of colloid and interface science across the globe.


We gratefully acknowledge the support of the ARC Centre of Excellence in Exciton Science.


Awards are open to delegates that qualify as

  • Delegates from low purchasing pawer parity (PPP) countries (Eligibility: Tiers 2-5; see below)
  • Students and ECR’s from any country (Eligibility: All Tiers)

(PPP: A standardised measure of economic performance, see below)



  • PPP of the applicants country of employment/study/current residence
  • Statement of the applicants financial need (<100 words)
  • Statement of the professional development opportunities that the award will bring to the applicant (<150 words)
  • Attendance in person or virtually



  • Applications are now open and will close at midnight on Tuesday 31st May 2022 (Australian Eastern Standard Time = Greenwich mean time + 10 hours)
  • Applications will only be accepted using the official online application form below.
  • All applications will be advised of the outcome on or before the 10th of June 2022


Selection Panel

  • The selection panel consists of members of the local organising committee
  • The selection panel in deciding the allocation of bursary funds will consider both gender balance and geographical diversity in their considerations
  • The decision of the panel is final and no correspondence will be entered into the decisions of the panel.


Low PPP countries

Low PPP countries have been determined using World bank data. The OECD data for PPP (which is in the local currency) is divided by the exchange rate between the USD and the local currency in order to produce a normalised measure of purchasing power

Eligible Low PPP Countries

Tier 2

Hungary, Poland, Slovak Republic, Romania, Latvia, Greece, Panama, Croatia, Seychelles, Malaysia, Russian Federation, Turks and Caicos Islands, Turkey, Trinidad and Tobago, Mauritius, Oman, Chile.

Tier 3

Bulgaria, Puerto Rico Montenegro, Kazakhstan, Argentina, Antigua and Barbuda, Uruguay, Costa Rica, Mexico, Palau, Belarus, Thailand, Serbia, Maldives, Dominican Republic, Nauru ,North Macedonia, Botswana, China, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Libya, Grenada, Barbados, Colombia.

Tier 4

Suriname, Georgia, St. Lucia, Lebanon, Brazil, Equatorial Guinea, Turkmenistan, Armenia, Albania, Azerbaijan, Gabon, Moldova, Ukraine, Guyana, Sri Lanka, Fiji, Iran, Islamic Rep., St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Paraguay, Peru, South Africa, Dominica, Kosovo, Indonesia, Egypt, Arab Rep., Algeria, Ecuador, Mongolia, Iraq, Bhutan, Tunisia, Jordan, Philippines, Jamaica, Namibia, Bolivia, Guatemala, El Salvador, Eswatini, Lao PDR, Vietnam, Morocco, West Bank and Gaza, Uzbekistan, Cabo Verde, Tonga, India, Belize, Samoa, Angola, Tuvalu, Djibouti, Ghana, Honduras, Nicaragua, Mauritania, Côte d’Ivoire, Bangladesh, Nigeria, Myanmar.

Tier 5

Marshall Islands, Kyrgyz Republic, Timor-Leste, Pakistan, Kiribati, Kenya, Papua New Guinea, Cambodia, São Tomé and Principe, Tajikistan, Sudan, Cameroon, Micronesia, Fed. Sts., Nepal, Zambia, Senegal, Benin, Lesotho, Vanuatu, Comoros, Haiti, Congo, Rep., Solomon Islands, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Guinea, Mali, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Rwanda, Guinea-Bissau, Uganda, Afghanistan, Burkina Faso, Sierra Leone, Togo, Madagascar, Chad, Niger, Liberia, Mozambique, Dem. Rep. Congo,  Malawi, Central African Republic, Burundi.

High PPP countries – not eligible for consideration as a low-PPP country

Tier 1

Macao SAR China, Singapore, Qatar, Bermuda, Luxembourg, Switzerland, Norway, Ireland, United Arab Emirates, Brunei Darussalam, United States, Hong Kong SAR China, Denmark, Netherlands, Iceland, Austria, Germany, Kuwait, Sweden, Belgium, Finland, France, Australia, Canada, Saudi Arabia, United Kingdom, Italy, Japan, Rep.Korea,  Bahrain, New Zealand, Malta, Spain, Israel, Cayman Islands, Slovenia, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Estonia, Lithuania, The Bahamas,  Portugal, Aruba


Purchasing Power Parity

Purchasing power parities (PPPs) are the rates of currency conversion that aim to equalise the purchasing power of different currencies, by eliminating the differences in price levels between countries. The basket of goods and services priced is a sample of all those that are part of final expenditures: final consumption of households and government, fixed capital formation, and net exports. This indicator is measured in terms of national currency per US dollar.

More information: https://datacatalog.worldbank.org/search/dataset/0037712/World-Development-Indicators